Skip to main content
The Hotline: 877-565-8860

Trans Lifeline Microgrants

$375,000
Total Funds Disbursed To Date

Our Application opens twice a month:
The 1st of every month at 9 AM PST / noon EST
The 15th of every month at 3 PM PST / 6 PM EST
Currently, we are only able to accept 35 applications a month due to capacity.
Our wait list is currently around 3 months.
Thank you for understanding!

The Trans Lifeline Microgrants Program can offer financial support to you in changing your legal name and updating your identification documents. Our volunteers will work with you to process your application, and can offer information on the fees, process, and paperwork. We will cut you a check for the entire cost of your document fees. Please note we do not file the paperwork for you.

We offer funding for:

  • Passport
  • Driver's License OR State ID
  • Court Order Name Change
  • Immigration Documents
  • Tribal IDs

At this time we are not able to offer financial assistance for:

  • Birth Certificates
  • Medical needs or procedures
  • Housing

Microgrants is unable to offer funding to Canadian citizens for ID documents at this time.

Microgrants provides money needed to cover the cost of changing names & identification documents; we do not require any paperwork or documentation in return from our clients.

Microgrants was founded in November 2016 as a separate organization, the Trans Assistance Project. It merged with Trans Lifeline in 2017.

Click here to sign up to receive an e-mail notification before the application goes live in December.